St Aidan’s school – change to catchment area.

We understand that St Aidan’s school in Harrogate has made changes to the catchment area which means that in future the villages of Burton Leonard and Bishop Monkton will no longer feed into St Aidan’s.

Harrogate Rural Area:
Places will normally be provided at the Harrogate secondary school for children who live in the parishes of Birstwith, Clint, Felliscliffe, Follifoot and Plompton, Hampsthwaite, Haverah Park and Beckwithshaw, Kearby-with-Netherby, Killinghall (except for the area defined under Harrogate town area above) Kirkby Overblow, Menwith-with-Darley, North Rigton, Ripley, Sicklinghall, Spofforth-with-Stockheld, South Stainley-with-Cayton, Washburn, Weeton and Bishop Thornton.


We would expect that this will result in an increase in competition for the limited number of places at Ripon Grammar.   Parents are advised to consult the schools directly to clarify matters.